top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIris Ming

What I Learned From My First Novel

Updated: Nov 12, 2019

I was in 7th grade when I finished my first novel, Humanoid. My younger self was ecstatic, writing this novel was the most difficult ordeal I’d ever endured in my creative life. The first draft was only 40,000 words, but it felt like a million to me at twelve years old. But even before the first version of Humanoid was done, I was having doubts.


I knew that this novel wouldn’t be my best work, even if it was at the time. I was young and new to writing. During the prelude to the final chapters of Humanoid, I researched publication frantically. What I learned was not assuring. Authors dealt with failure and struggled to publish their novels all the time, inexperienced young ones especially so.


Anxiety over putting in so much work into something that would ultimately never be read by the masses slowed down my motivation. I was an idealistic author, fantasizing about movie adaptations and adoring fans. I was almost discouraged enough to quit. But idealism didn't die that easily; sheer hope drove me to finish Humanoid.


So what did I learn about writing from my first novel? More than a few things.

  1. AFTER YOU FINISH IT, GIVE IT A BREAK—When I ecstatically showed my 7th grade English teacher the last words of Humanoid, I expected she would say something along the lines of, "Great! Now perfect it." Instead, she told me in no uncertain terms to put it down for a week and come back with with a clear mind. The mania of finishing a novel can blind the author to what needs to be improved. Coming back with fresh eyes means coming back with fresh insight.

  2. LEARN TO LOVE EDITING—Someone once told me that writing is really 90% editing. I didn't consider that advice for months while working on my rough draft. After I returned to my first draft after a week of waiting, the idea of going through a year of work was daunting. A few chapters in, however, I found that I edited just as feverishly as I wrote. Personally, I found that editing was more enjoyable than writing, since the groundwork had been already been laid.

  3. EVERY WRITING EXPERIENCE IS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE—It took me a few months to get through the mild trauma of understanding that something so significant to me would ultimately be put on the sidelines. When I emerged from the dry spell following Humanoid, I began new short stories and different novels. This time, I wrote without the expectation that each piece would smash best-selling records. My mindset concerning writing was healthier when I decided to write for the sake of learning.

Of course, there were other lessons I took away from Humanoid. As a young writer, I worked through issues like character development and world building. These three are the most beneficial ones for the writer I am today. Notice that they have nothing to do with writing itself, but are centered around improvement. The most important skill a writer should develop is the ability to grow.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page